Legendary Maine Guide Award

Download the Legendary Maine Guide Award Nomination Form (PDF)

Nomination Criteria
Must meet 20 year anniversary as a Registered Maine Guide. Active guide for 10 years
Passes a criminal background check. Law abiding citizen with no arrests for committing a crime related to: Human injury, gun laws or major hunting or fishing violations for 20 years.
Volunteer community service. Providing education about safety and survival in the Maine woods. Introducing and educating youth about the importance of the ecosystem found in the State of Maine.
Active on boards or committees that enhances and promotes the importance of Maine’s outdoor resources, ie: youth programs, scout leader, conservation education, safety instructor, search and rescue volunteer, active in Fish and Game club(s), guide license examiner, etc.
Nomination Deadline
All nominations must be received by January 10 of the calendar year.

Review Panel
All nominations will be reviewed by a seven (7) member review panel from the MDIFW.

Deputy Commissioner, MDIFW, Chair
Previous year’s Wiggie Robinson Award winner
4 Maine Guides (2-MPGA; 2-non-members MPGA)
Bill Swan, MDIFW, Licensing
The Award will be presented to the winner at the Annual Maine Professional Guides Banquet each year.

Award Recipients
Wilmot “Wiggie” Robinson (posthumously) 2009
Gil Gilpatrick 2010
Gary Corson 2011
Gardner Defoe 2012
Matthew P. Libby 2013
Don Dudley 2014
Danny Legere 2015
Richard Scribner 2016
Donald E. Helstrom, Jr 2017
Lance Wheaton, 2018